The unearthing

My beloved is beginning to unearth
the words that have been buried deep
I’ve been told,
work and don’t say a word
all hands and no mouth – that’s a good girl

I’ve been afraid of what I have to say
complete sentences are not my forte
I only want to please
but my words are not pleasant

I’m afraid of who I’m growing into
what happens when I am no longer a role:
a friend, a daughter, a student
Jesus, you stripped my layers away
you have revealed me
utterly in need

No longer me –
But Christ in me – though I protest daily!
unearthing those lost words
beckoning me to unfold in a thousand ways

Leave a Reply

